Choose a Topic

View Our Case Results
Kelley/Uustal Practice Areas

Workplace-Related Accidents

Call Our Fort Lauderdale Personal Injury Lawyers

According to the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), in 2010 there were nearly 4 million recordable injury cases in places of work, including nearly 1.2 million cases where workers missed work, had to transfer to another job, or had their duties restricted.

Construction and agriculture, two prominent industries in Florida, recorded 202,100 and 16,800 recordable work-related personal injuries respectively nationwide in 2010.

  • Construction workplace injuries included 105,480 cases where work was missed or the worker had to transfer or have restrictions placed on duties.
  • Agriculture workplace injuries included 9,800 cases where work was missed or the worker had to transfer or have restrictions placed on duties.

Kelley/Uustal Is Here to Help!

If you are injured at your place of work, you are not alone. Small companies (with 10 or fewer employees) report the fewest workplace injuries, while mid-sized companies (with 50 to 250 employees) report the most. Wrongful deaths, illnesses, and injuries that are workplace-related cost $155.5 billion a year in lost productivity. Car accidents are the leading cause of deaths in the workplace, and the three states where the most work related injuries occur are Texas, California, and Florida.

Workplace-Related Injuries

The Division of Workers’ Compensation is the overseeing entity for Florida workers hurt on the job. Injured workers should report work injuries immediately. If they don’t report an injury within 30 days of the incident, their claim may be denied. Workers normally have two years from the date of injury to actually file a claim, but if the injury isn’t reported within 30 days, that time lapse can be used to argue that a workers’ compensation claim is not valid.

Employers have responsibilities after work-related injuries. When a worker is injured on the job, the employer must notify their workers’ comp insurance carrier immediately and file a report within seven days of an injury.

Workers’ compensation checks are typically received within 21 days of an injury report, and benefits are paid every other week at two-thirds of the worker’s average weekly wage. Injured workers are assigned to an authorized physician to oversee treatment, and workers’ comp pays for all authorized medical care and treatment related to the injury.

What You Should Do if You Were Injured on the Job

Report any on-the-job injuries as soon as possible and seek emergency medical help if necessary. Workers’ comp insurers may tell you that you’re receiving the maximum possible benefit after your injury, but that is not always the case.

Enlisting in the help of an experienced injury lawyer in Fort Lauderdale can help you ensure that you get the medical treatment you deserve and that your future is protected. For more information about your case and how or team can help, contact us for a FREE consultation.

Recognized as One of the Nation's Best Law Firms

Don't just take our word for it. See it for yourself.

Client Reviews & Testimonials
  • AV Peer Review Rated
  • Florida Super Lawyers
  • South Florida Top Rated Lawyers
  • Best Law Firms
  • The Best Lawyers in America
  • The National Trial Lawyers - Top 100 Trial Lawyers
© 2014 All Rights Reserved The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.